League allocations for 2023/24 confirmed

The FA have announced 2023/24 League allocations for clubs in Step 1 to Step 6 of the National League System.

North Shields and Shildon have been relegated from the Northern Premier League East to the Ebac Northern League Division One (at Step 5 in the NLS).

Sunderland RCA have been reprieved because of resignations and a voluntary relegation in other leagues in the NLS and they stay in the First Division because of their points per game rating from last season.

Boro Rangers and Birtley Town have been promoted from Division Two (Step 6 in the NLS), while Pickering Town have been laterally moved to the Toolstation Northern Counties East League.

For the 2023/24 season Division One will comprise: Birtley Town, Bishop Auckland, Boro Rangers, Carlisle City, Crook Town, Guisborough Town, Heaton Stannington, Newcastle Benfield, North Shields, Northallerton Town, Penrith, Redcar Athletic, Seaham Red Star, Shildon, Sunderland RCA, Tow Law Town, West Allotment Celtic, West Auckland Town, Whickham and Whitley Bay.

Only one club, Thornaby have been relegated to Division Two.  Sunderland West End has also been reprieved as one of the best second bottom placed clubs ranked according to points per game.  Willington have been relegated.

FC Hartlepool, Newcastle Blue Star and Yarm & Eaglescliffe have been promoted to the division from feeder leagues.

For the 2023/24 season Division Two will comprise: Bedlington Terriers, Billingham Synthonia, Billingham Town, Blyth Town, Boldon CA, Brandon United, Chester-le-Street Town, Chester-le-Street United, Easington Colliery, Esh Winning, FC Hartlepool, Horden CW, Jarrow, Newcastle Blue Star, Newcastle University, Prudhoe YC Seniors, Redcar Town, Ryton & Crawcrook Albion, Sunderland West End, Thornaby, Washington and Yarm & Eaglescliffe.

** The Northern League have announced that the Brooks Mileson Memorial League Cup, for all First and Second Division clubs, will return next season, as will the Second Division Ernest Armstong Memorial Cup. The draws for the early rounds will take place at the League AGM on 17th June.

Scroll to top

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies as described in our Privacy Policy