Northern League honours Bay stalwarts

The climax of the Northern League's Annual Presentation Dinner saw the prestigious Arthur Clark Memorial Trophy awarded jointly to long serving Whitley Bay Treasurer Jennifer Breakwell and her late husband and Club Secretary Derek.

The trophy, for outstanding voluntary work for club and league, is named in memory of another former Bay Secretary Arthur Clark, who held the position in the 1960's before going on to become Northern League chairman.

Speaking at the presentation, which took place at the Ramside Hall Hotel near Durham City, League chairman Glenn Youngman said “We were delighted to choose Jennifer and Derek Breakwell as the recipients of the Arthur Clark award. It's a bitter sweet award having sadly lost our colleague Derek, but it's a fitting tribute to their unstinting work."

The club were also presented with a framed certificate as joint winners of the First Division Respect award, having had no players cautioned or dismissed for dissent all season. The award was shared with Thornaby.

Whitley Bay's determination to continue Derek Breakwell's meticulous attention to accuracy as secretary was further recognised when the club received an administration award, along with just six other clubs, for completing the season without any administrative errors.

On the pitch, Harvey Neary was placed third in the voting for First Division Young Player of the Year while Paul Dixon named captain Michael Hall as a runner up in the award for BBC Radio Newcastle's Player of the Year.



Scroll to top

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies as described in our Privacy Policy